The Enneagram, first impressions and thoughts


Well today Richard Rohr’s book on the Enneagram was delivered, but thanks to thewonders of technology, I have also acquired a kindle book on the subject which sets out the history and basic understanding of this process for understanding personality types, and I also downloaded an app on my iPad that has a self test in it to analyse what type or types I am.

I am not sure it is helpful but I took the test and my result is mainly 9 the Peacemaker, with large parts of 5 and 6 thrown in too.  So I am an instinctive type, not a thinker at all, who would have guessed?  And I am a peacemaker, well thatbegs many questions – personality is largely developed in our early years, so who or what was I trying to make peace with or for?

Any way it is early days in my new study, but as you may see this has the potential to unearth some heavy stuff.  I am also wondering how it will fit in with my search in to the mother wounds?

2017 looks to be shaping into an interesting year.

5 thoughts on “The Enneagram, first impressions and thoughts

  1. I’m a 9 too! I suggest you read the book descriptions of the types though, and sense which one feels most like you. Normally you find one that feels like it describes your life. It can take a while. For me, I found the longer Type descriptions in the book more helpful than the test.

  2. There is a good weekend coming up at Llansor Mill about the Enneagram. I’ve attended one before and it’s a great opportunity with an expert to get to grips with it in a practical way. Happy to share more

  3. First let me wish you a very happy new year. Second, I have read this post and the last two. I am just now sitting down and responding. I appreciate your deep openness to share with us. I have pondered what you wrote a lot. I have taken the Enneagram and I scored as a “1”. The information rang true. I even chuckled as I connected some dots with my actions. Thank you again!

Leave a comment